Spot the Difference!

Things have been a little quiet around here.

The following photos may provide a clue as to why….

After...

The now…

Notice anything odd in the photo above?

No?

Then check out the one below:

Before...

The long gone past…

If you haven’t got it yet, I’ll spill the beans.

Basically, my development machine has finally stopped working. It was a 2009 Apple Mac Pro. This is an expensive machine and one that’s completely uneconomical to repair.

I had a love-hate relationship with that machine. It suffered from many issues including overheating and a display that could best be described as temperamental. But I did enjoy the earlier editions of OSX, that is until Apple dropped the ball with the most recent releases.

It gave around 7 years of sterling service before finally succumbing to its fate.

In terms of Ancient Armies, no source code was lost as this is stored on a separate RAID NAS drive system. In retrospect this was probably one of the smartest moves I ever made. If I hadn’t moved the source code, we would be in a bit of a pickle right now.

The only real issue is that my JIRA, Confluence and Fisheye servers were located on the Apple Mac. These are the primary management tools that help keep track of the project and its documentation.

My original intent was to wait until I got a replacement machine as I didn’t want to develop on my games machine. However, I have now decided that the games machine will just have to do!

The hard part of getting JIRA, Confluence and Fisheye transferred from the old hard-drives to the games machine took a little imagination and a not inconsiderable amount of time. However, I can now declare that these systems are all safely running on the games machine with no loss of data. 😎

So where does this leave the project?

With Christmas coming up, I have decided to schedule a restart in early January. So have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year everyone. I’ll see you all, bright and bushy tailed in the New Year!

Laters

RobP

 

4 thoughts on “Spot the Difference!

Leave a Reply

