Map System Stress Test!

Whilst the requirements analysis and initial UI design is taking place for the Army Editor, I thought I’d give the Mapping System a bit of a stress test.

There were two reasons for doing this:

  1. I needed to see if the mapping system could cope with larger maps.
  2. I wanted an example of a ‘real’ map to show people!

Had I had more time, I could have easily added much more detail to the map, but alas, my time is limited. That said the map is a lot larger, and far more complex than any ancient battle field!

Given that the system handles this map so easily, it will have no problems with the ancient battlefields that I’m going to throw at it.

I think you’ll agree, it has passed its stress test! 😀

I’ll leave you with some screen shots:

Kailua Bay in flat mode. (Click to view full size image)

Kailua Bay in flat mode. (Click to view full size image)

Kailua Bay in 3d mode! (Click for full sized image)

Kailua Bay in 3d mode! (Click for full sized image)

Attempting to stress out the map editor! (Click for full size image)

Attempting to stress out the map editor! (Click for full size image)

Another close up of the stress map. (Click for full size image)

Another close up of the stress map. (Click for full size image)

A close up of part of the map. Note I didn't have time to name the terrain features! (Click for full size image)

A close up of part of the map. Note I didn’t have time to name the terrain features! (Click for full size image)

I think this first real map also vindicates my decision to move away from the original 3d mapping engine – as there is no way that engine could produce a map like this!

Laters

RobP

2 thoughts on “Map System Stress Test!

  1. Looking good Rob.

    I’m watching the project with interest, I was an avid player of micro-ancients (your start point) many decades ago.

    I like the idea of an ancient armies map with an airport…

    Regards

    Alex Hewlett

    http://www.attainmenttraining.co.uk

    Find me on LinkedIn and Twitter

    Part of Yorkshire Trainers Association – a network of independent trainers who can meet all your training needs!

    Attainment Training

    tel: 0121 276 0040

    mailto:alex@attainmenttraining.co.uk

    The Vicarage, Reeth, North Yorks, DL11 6TR

    • Thanks. I was surprised that the system turned out to be flexible enough to add things like airports and big buildings with the creative use off both contours and walls 🙂

Leave a Reply

