Cry Havoc! and Let Slip the Dogs of War!

The army component’s requirements have now been determined – all twenty eight of them! (Click for full sized image)

The army component’s requirements have now been determined – all twenty eight of them! (Click for full sized image)

Although coding has yet to start on the Army Editor and the Army library a lot of work has already gone into getting the project kicked off.

I now have 28 initial requirements that are now in the system. These will guide me in the building of the above two components.

In some ways I was quite surprised. I thought this project would be a simple port of what I already had, but having now gone through the requirements it looks like that this is going to be a bigger job than the mapping system!

Although bigger than the mapping system, I will be coding technologies and concepts that I’m already very familiar with. This is in direct contrast with the mapping system where I was learning a whole bunch of new stuff. So hopefully, this will mean that I can get this part of the game completed in short order.

In hand with the building of the army components I am conducting further research into Ancient Warfare. I already have a lot of research under my belt, but up until now I seem to have missed out on Han’s Delbruk’s excellent work on Warfare in Antiquity.

Han's Delbruck's book called 'Warfare in Antiquity' is essential reading, even though it is quite an old book.

Han’s Delbruck’s book called ‘Warfare in Antiquity’ is essential reading, even though it is quite an old book.

I’m hoping that this will answer some of the questions that I still have with regard to ancient warfare and will hopefully help me hone the battle routines.

That’s it for this week.

Laters

RobP

One thought on “Cry Havoc! and Let Slip the Dogs of War!

Leave a Reply

